Sept 2018 BOH - Toronto BOH Letter re Student Nutrition Program Impact of Municipal Plan 2013-2018

Toronto City Clerk's Office logo

August 3, 2018


To: Interested Parties

Subject: Student Nutrition Program: Impact of Municipal Plan 2013-2018 (Item HL28.5) 

The Toronto Board of Health, during its meeting on July 16, 2018, adopted Item HL28.5, as amended, and:

  1. Requested Ontario-based public health boards to express their support and endorsement for a federal universal health school food program called for by Senator Art Eggleton and the Federation of Canadian Municipalities.
  2. Supported and endorsed the call by Senator Art Eggleton and the Federation of Canadian Municipalities for a federal universal health school food program.
  3. Requested the Medical Officer of Health to consider opportunities to address the identified gaps in student nutrition programs and work with Student Nutrition Ontario
  4. - Toronto to develop a plan to address these needs.
  5. Directed that the Board of Health’s decision and the report (June 28, 2018) from the Medical Officer of Health be forwarded to appropriate federal government officials.

To view this item and background information online, please visit:


Julie Lavertu/ar
Board of Health

Sent to the following Boards of Health in Ontario (via e-mails to the Public Health Units):

• Algoma Public Health Unit
• Brant County Health Unit
• Chatham-Kent Health Unit
• Durham Region Health Department
• Eastern Ontario Health Unit
• Grey Bruce Health Unit
• Haldimand-Norfolk Health Unit
• Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge District Health Unit
• Halton Region Health Department
• City of Hamilton Public Health Services
• Hastings Prince Edward Public Health Unit
• Huron County Health Unit
• Kingston, Frontenac, Lennox & Addington Public Health
• Lambton Public Health
• Leeds, Grenville and Lanark District Health Unit
• Middlesex-London Health Unit
• Niagara Region Public Health Department
• North Bay Parry Sound District Health Unit
• Northwestern Health Unit
• Ottawa Public Health
• Oxford-Elgin-St. Thomas Public Health Unit
• Peel Public Health
• Perth District Health Unit
• Peterborough Public Health
• Porcupine Health Unit
• Public Health Sudbury & Districts
• Renfrew County and District Health Unit
• Simcoe Muskoka District Health Unit
• Thunder Bay District Health Unit
• Timiskaming Health Unit
• Region of Waterloo, Public Health
• Wellington-Dufferin-Guelph Public Health
• Windsor-Essex County Health Unit
• York Region Public Health

cc (via e-mail):
• Dr. Eileen de Villa, Medical Officer of Health, Toronto Public Health
• Elena Zeppieri, Administrative Assistant to the Medical Officer of Health, Toronto Public Health