Prenatal Series

Our prenatal series is a traditional-style prenatal class. You can attend these group sessions alone or with a partner/support person. Talk to a prenatal educator, ask questions, and meet other parents-to-be. You’ll get a pregnancy and a breastfeeding booklet, as well as other handouts, to take home with you.

The cost for the prenatal series is $90, but the fee can be waived if needed. There’s no additional cost to bring your partner or support person.

What you’ll learn

  • Changes of pregnancy
  • Prenatal care
  • Healthy living (e.g., healthy eating, physical activity, environmental risks)
  • Signs of preterm labour
  • Labour and birth; including positions, breathing & relaxation
  • Medical interventions (e.g., epidural and Caesarean birth/C-section)
  • Mom’s health after baby’s birth
  • Caring for a newborn
  • Breastfeeding
  • Community resources

How to register

  • Register online any time
  • Call 1-800-265-7293 Monday to Friday from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. 

For upcoming prenatal series start dates, see our Calendar or the schedule below. Classes are held in Fergus, Guelph and Orangeville.

Fergus

Classes are held at 474 Wellington Road #18, Suite 100 (map)

Start date Day of the week Time Class dates
April 29, 2017 Saturday 9 a.m.-4 p.m Apr 29 & May 6
June 10, 2017 Saturday 9 a.m.-4 p.m Jun 10 & 17
July 22, 2017 Saturday 9 a.m.-4 p.m. Jul 22 & 29
September 16, 2017 Saturday 9 a.m.-4 p.m. Sep16 & 23

Guelph

Classes are held at 20 Shelldale Cres. (map)

Start date Day of the week Time Class dates
March 13, 2017 Monday 7-9 p.m. Mar 13, 20, 27, Apr 3, 10, 24
March 18, 2017 Saturday  9 a.m.-4 p.m

Mar 18 & 25

March 21, 2017 Tuesday  7-9 p.m Mar 21, 28, Apr 4, 11, 18 & 25
April 22, 2017 Saturday 9 a.m.-4 p.m Apr 22 & Ap 29
May 8, 2017 Monday 7-9 p.m May 8, 15, 29, Jun 5, 12 & 19
May 9, 2017 Tuesday 7-9 p.m May 9, 16, 30, Jun 6, & 13
May 27, 2017 Saturday 9 a.m.-4 p.m May 27 & Jun 3
June 27, 2017 Tuesday 7-9 p.m Jun 27, Jul 4, 11, 18, 25 & Aug 1
July 8, 2017 Saturday 9 a.m.-4 p.m Jul 8 & 15
July 10, 2017 Monday 7-9 p.m. Jul 10, 17, 24, 31 Aug 14 & 21
August 15, 2017 Tuesday 7-9 p.m. Aug 15, 22 ,29, Sept 5, 12 & 19
September 9, 2017 Saturday 9 a.m.-4 p.m. Sep 9 & 16
September 11, 2017 Monday 7-9 p.m. Sep 11, 18, 25 Oct 2, 16 & 23

Orangeville

Classes are held at 180 Broadway (map).

Start date Day of the week Time Class dates
March 14, 2017 Tuesday 7-9 p.m Mar 14, 21, 28, Apr 4, 11 & 18
April 29,2017 Saturday 9 a.m.-4 p.m Apr 29 & May 6
May 9, 2017 Tuesday 7-9 p.m May 9, 16, 23, 30, Jun 6 & 13
June 10, 2017 Saturday 9 a.m.-4 p.m. Jun 10 & 17
July 4, 2017 Tuesday 7-9 p.m. Jul 4, 11, 18, 25, Aug 1 & 8
July 22, 2017 Saturday 9 a.m.-4 p.m. Jul 22 & 29
August 29, 2017 Tuesday 7-9 p.m. Aug 29, Sept 5, 12, 19, 26 & Oct 3
September 16, 2017 Saturday 9 a.m.-4 p.m. Sep 16 & 23

Note:

In-person series may be cancelled if the registration numbers are too low. If the series you registered for is cancelled, you will be notified within 5 business days of the start of the first prenatal session. When a series needs to be cancelled, Public Health will work with you to suggest alternative dates and locations that may work within your schedule. If you have any questions regarding our cancellation policy please contact us at: 1-800-265-7293 ext. 4245.

Unfortunately, once your series starts, we can’t refund your money without a medical reason.